News


Thanks for your patience during our transition!

Thank you all for your patience during our transition! We're scaling down our COVID-19 testing operation and that has allowed us much needed time to catch-up. We recently completed a transition from a manual credit card console to an online credit card payment processing system. This allows us to send you a direct payment link through email, providing you the flexibility to complete payment at your convenience. We're also working hard on a new website with integrated payment processing which we hope to launch this fall.

Please direct all inquiries to our new email address - asc-microbioservice@osu.edu. Our team will follow-up with you by email and can schedule calls as needed. Thank you!

Jeff


Introducing the New Collection Manager!

As many of you have heard, I am retiring from Ohio State on 28 February and will be working as an independent consultant. Beginning 1 March, the BGSC will have a new collection manager, Jeff Jahnes. Jeff came to Ohio State in 2013, first serving as Laboratory Supervisor for the Department of Microbiology, then in 2019 assuming the directorship for the Applied Microbiology Services Lab (AMSL) at Ohio State's Infectious Diseases Institute. As the pandemic unfolded, Jeff was charged with developing and managing the COVID-19 testing facility that serves Ohio State's 50,000+ students. He's done a fantastic job in these positions, so I feel fortunate that he has agreed to direct the BGSC. Strain maintenance and distribution will continue uninterrupted during the transition, but please be patient: Jeff and his team do face a bit of a learning curve as they implement and eventually improve upon our systems. Jeff's contact information is below:

email: ASC-microbioservice@osu.edu

office: +1 614-292-3490

I want to thank the Bacillus research community for all the positive interactions and teamwork over the last 35 years. Our field seems to attract talented, interesting, creative people who value collaboration. I hope to stay active in science through consulting, editing, and writing. If you want to get in touch with me, my OSU email address should remain active (zeigler.1@osu.edu). Best wishes for a safe and productive 2021--and beyond!


Limited Time! Essential Genes Expression Library

Five copies of the FreeGenes "Bacillus subtilis genes (E. coli codon optimized) expression library" are available. As described on the FreeGenes website, "261 essential genes from Bacillus subtilis, codon optimized for Escherichia coli in MoClo-compatible high-copy ampicillin resistance backbones. Shipped in Escherichia coli Top10 in three 96 well plates." I will distribute them on a first come, first served basis this week only. (Of course, you can also obtain them from FreeGenes after the week is up.) Please contact me directly for details at zeigler.1@osu.edu.


Subtillery 2021 -- June 14-18 on Zoom

Forwarded message from Emma Denham and Matt Cabeen:

Dear Bacillus Global Community,

We hope that you and your family are well during this time.

As we continue through these unprecedented times and to fill the gap until we can be together at in person conferences. We are pleased to announce Subtillery 2021 - a virtual meeting for all things Bacillus. This will take place June 14th-18th on Zoom.

Sessions will run for approximately 4 hours, as with Subtillery 2020 with the following start timings.

6:45am Los Angeles, USA

8:45am Chicago, USA

9:45am Washington DC, USA

10:45am Brasilia, Brazil

2:45pm London, UK

3:45pm Paris, France; Berlin, Germany

7:15pm New Delhi, India

9:45pm Beijing, China

10:45pm Tokyo, Japan

11:45pm Canberra, Australia

The conference website can be found here: https://cabeenlab.okstate.edu/subtillery-2021

We are very grateful to BACIP for sponsoring the speaker awards for this meeting.

We will be accepting abstract submissions for talks from March 1st. Abstract submission will close May 7th. Decisions will be sent out on the 21st May. Registration will also open on the 1st March.

Best wishes,

Emma and Matt